Poetry Generator

While planning Wednesday’s Code Club during a snow day on Tuesday I came across the Code Club World project Ada’s Poetry Generator.  This is a new project for me and I liked the way it introduced and used lists.   Arrays and lists are extremely important data structures in programming – right up there with loops and variables. I’ve never introduced lists in Scratch before.  I also liked how this project wasn’t a game but had the potential for a lot of creativity and fun.

I mocked up a project with Scratch Cat instead of Ada Lovelace.  (I did talk briefly about Ada when introducing the project.)

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 8.45.33 PM

I added some “talking” animation to Scratch Cat by duplicating costumes and morphing the mouth into different shapes.  Then coding the costumes to change when the poem is “spoken”

Some students whined a bit about poetry and not a game but I ignored that because I knew they’d like it once they figured it out.  I’m hoping someone chooses to make a MadLib or something similar for the final project.  If not, I may see if we can use this in some language arts project.

Here are some nice examples:

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 9.00.09 PM

Computer generating poetry with lists

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 9.06.15 PM

This coder really liked gluteus maximus, and unhelpful list naming conventions.

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 9.01.11 PM

Awesome animated mouth

This coder is my animator to be.  He drew and animated the PacMan and Ghost being eaten costumes… then he coded the poem in the last few minutes.

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 9.02.52 PM

Future animator

These two below took the morphing a bit to the extreme but the coding (and poetry) is well done:

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 8.56.52 PMScreen Shot 2017-03-16 at 9.15.40 PM

I enjoyed reading all the funny randomly generated poems that the students created.  I was glad I choose this project for my Code Club.

One thought on “Poetry Generator

  1. I’m thinking of using this project with some adults who come to our Raspberry Jam (an evening workshop using Raspberry Pi computers) as I’d like them to learn about lists. Your post has given me lots of ideas on how to use this poetry generator activity. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

