New Club’s 1st Session

Last Thursday was the first meeting of my new Code Club at MLS. I had 12 fourth graders joining me (8 boys and 4 girls). They were really curious about me, Scratch, Code Club, making their own game, making a web site, rules, everything.  Their lab wasn’t set up with Scratch 2 so I introduced Scratch 1.4 and let them explore the program a bit. Then I had them try out the maze project. Success was mixed. A couple of students diligently followed the packet and ended up with working games.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 4.46.02 PM

Example of a maze game.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 4.46.10 PM

A couple of others got stuck and got off task. Did you know if you click the “add random Sprite” button a whole bunch of times you fill up the Stage pretty quickly? I’ve had a handful of students try this out this year at both schools.  I can’t remember anyone doing that last year. Interesting.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 5.02.31 PM

Testing the “Add random Sprite” button

And a couple of others got partway through.  They just needed more time but I let them free explore again at the end of the session and they were glad to get the chance.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 4.47.53 PM

There is a different routine at this school and I’ll need to learn it just as much as the students will need to get to know me.

Scratch 2 is now installed so next we’ll try “Felix and Herbert”.  It’s both an introductory lesson and a game.  I used it last year but it is currently an archived project at Code Club World. Then both clubs will be back in sync and working on the same projects.

Leave a Reply

