Rookie Mistakes

After a merited, welcomed, two-week break, we have Code Club again tomorrow.  It’s our next to the last meeting and I’m concerned. I don’t think their “create your own game” projects are ready for the showcase – I don’t think they are one hour away from being ready. There’s a lot of work to do, errors to be found, logic to be thought through, and no rigorous testing has been done. (Do I sound like a software manager a week before a new release deadline?)

I had planned to approach each of the 4th grade coders during school over the last two days and find out how they thought their project was coming along.  I talked to two (out of 23) and they didn’t seem concerned.  I actually think they were confused about what I was asking as if the two-week winter break had wiped out all thoughts about Code Club.  So maybe I’m the only one who’s nervous about this. This is my rookie season as a Code Club leader, I must remember.  Maybe everything will get done on time?

Yeah, right.  Here’s the thing.  I recall the last Code Club meeting as being less than productive.  I believe others also found it frustrating. Besides the fact that it was the week before Christmas and two days before vacation, things didn’t go as well as I’d hoped. Students were stuck, teams weren’t working well together, projects were behaving strangely, stuff was lost, etc. That kind of stuff happens. I expect some of that, I’m not a complete rookie.

What bothers me most is not every student was able to get some help. On the whiteboard, next to the list for using the microphone, a student started a list for those who needed help and added their name.  I didn’t even notice the list until the end. It’s a good idea, really, and we’ll start a list like that tomorrow.  Not really sure what to think, but I feel that I’m letting them down. The list was an interesting expression of frustration. On one hand I expect them to need some help as they are just beginner Scratchers, but perhaps am I helping too much or unevenly. Maybe I haven’t provided enough foundation to give them the confidence to persevere in troubleshooting? Or the projects were too complicated and it was a failure in the design review process. More things to learn.

Truth is, I don’t have that much more experience using Scratch than they do. Problems and questions have come up that I didn’t have the answer to.  For example, a couple of students wanted to add gravity into their game.  Turns out there are lots of ways to simulate this, even more than those listed on the Scratch Wiki for Simulating Gravity (I didn’t even know about the Scratch Wiki until researching the gravity problem).  One team is using a timer to simulate gravity.  Another is using simple direct movement method.

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 10.48.50 PM

I’m sure more stuff like this will crop up tomorrow. Of course, I need to remember – rookie season, rookie mistakes.

4 thoughts on “Rookie Mistakes

  1. Pingback: It’s Showtime | My Code Club Journal
  2. All the same challenges you have mentioned happen to me too! The teacher I work with suggests we/you should start a list called ‘experts’ on the board and add titles, such as ‘Making variables’ and an expert (or pupils can add themselves). That way some of the pupils will be guided to pupil helpers, other than to you. I haven’t got solutions to other difficulties but I’ve found it helpful to recruit a Computer Science university student as a support assistant and when I’ve managed to find one they have been invaluable but I haven’t got one working with us at present.

    Like

      • I have moved my blog from Blogger to WordPress because I am finding it easier to use. I’ve called it Bishopthorpe Code Club. There’s not much there yet but I intend to keep recording what happens and how the pupils react.

        Like

Leave a Reply

